So much, so good

The past few months have been a whirlwind of activity. First off, I got a new studio spac11119118_10153355326376369_5004880271878818806_ne!!! I’m madly in love with it and am completely wallowing in the creative process right now. I’m located in old downtown Overland Park inside the InterUrban Art House. It’s such a great organization to get to be a part of and now I’m surrounded by other creatives and creative energy.

My work has also began to transition. Maybe it’s spring. Maybe it’s just having more space to play and create. My textures have gotten thicker and I think maybe my colors are even a little bolder (if that was at all possible).

I also have tried my fate at art festivals. I was asked to be the featured artist for the Atchison Art Fair in Atchison, KS. It went well and I sold 2 pieces. I thought that was quite good considering the 50 degree temperature and the rain (can you say freezing cold).

10457927_10153389353196369_9096217820368460677_nI then was invited to be a part of the Lenexa Art Fair. I was overwhelmed at the results. Even with the rain I sold nearly every painting I have done in the past year. It was exciting and almost a little overwhelming. The best part is it affords me lots of time in the studio!!

This past weekend I did the Mulvane Art Festival in Topeka, KS. I sold 9 pieces and again was pleased to see people get so excited about my work.

I have several more shows booked in the next few weeks. If you are in the area, I will be at Art in the Vines this coming Saturday, June 13th at Somerset Ridge Vineyard & Winery in Louisburg, KS. The 19th-21st I will be at the Parkville River Jam in Parkville, MO.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

