Reflections of 2013

It’s been amazing year for me. I started the year out with a full-time corporate job. I was struggling to balance work, motherhood, and my art. However, I was fortunate enough to have a job that allowed me some time to work on the business side of my art while still being able to support my son and myself.

I developed a lot of clarity on what needed to be done with my art as a business. I also started a new series of impressionistic textured landscapes. They made their debut at a 3 month exhibit at Suite 101 on Washington in KC. One of my paintings for the show was used as the cover art for ‘Evolve’ magazine. I had a great turnout at the reception, even though it was March and there was a blizzard outside.

In May I painted live on KCTV Live. I took the Art Attack challenge and created a painting in a one hour time frame throughout the live broadcast. My finished piece was donated to the Hope Lodge (free lodging for cancer patients going through treatment). I also had a collaborated show with photographer Tom Styrkowicz at the gallery in Roeland Park City Hall.

In June I participated in my first year at an outdoor art festival, Art in the Vines, in Louisburg, KS. I was so excited at the positive feedback I received. I sold several paintings and it helped reinforce wanting to spend more time doing my art. I also had an art reception at Iced Art with jewelry designer Erin Paige Stegman and cake artist Michelle Rice in Merriam, KS. I was part of the Kansas City Artists Coalition ‘Public Hanging’ exhibit.

I moved my studio to downtown Mission, KS. I was able to quit my full time job and concentrate on painting. I loved having the space to spread out and create. I had an exhibit at the Jones Gallery during First Friday in June. I sold 2 pieces and then showed my work for the next 3 months.

In September, I was asked to be an artist in resident for the St. Luke Hospital fundraiser ‘Paint the Town’. I painted live and showed my work during the Carnivale themed event. I sold every painting I displayed and received several commissions. I loved the entire experience and appreciated the opportunity to get to be part of such an amazing event.

In October I was accepted into the ‘Now Showing’ program through the ArtsKC Regional Arts Council. I immediately hung a show at Tavern in the Village in Prairie Village and at Burns and McDonnell in Overland Park. Again, I was overwhelmed with the excitement for my work. My showing at the Tavern was a huge success. I also participated in the Kansas City Artists Coalition ‘Public Hanging’ show. It was my first show as a new member.

My studio space in Mission closed due to leasing issues. I am currently looking for a new space and have my eye on a few spaces. Fortunately I am getting ready to hang shows at Matrix Fund Services and McCown Gordan Construction through the ‘Now Showing’ program, so I don’t have much work needing to take up space. I will also be displaying my work in the soon to open restaurant, Kansas Town, in Kansas City.

This year brought for me new focus and clarity. I have more determination than ever to live my dreams. I have loved being able to do what I love, inspire others, and be involved with my sons first year school programs. I am so appreciative to those that support me and to continue to believe in me. Thank you for being part of my journey. I already have an exciting year falling into place.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

