Better kick it into high gear

I am so slammed busy in the studio at the moment I wanted to take a small break and share all the good happenings. I have been making a real effort to start applying for shows and events. It’s great to see my work paying off.

I currently have a show at the Jones Gallery in the Crossroads. This is my third consecutive month. I love this gallery and it’s in the heart of the monthly First Friday event in Kansas City. I’ve had good luck in this gallery and have met many other amazing artists.

I also have several pieces hanging at Iced Art in Merriam, KS. The owner is an amazing cake artist and great spirit. I love how the artwork brightens up the walls.

I was approached last week by St. Luke’s hospital. They hold an annual fundraiser, and this year it’s called ‘Paint the Town’ on September 21st. The theme is Brazilian Carnivale. I think it looks amazing. They have unbelievable entertainment and are expecting it to sell out at about 750 people. I was nominated as an artist to be part of the fundraiser. I was accepted by the Board and they called to ask me to paint live and show my paintings. I am sooo excited to be part of this. It will not only be great networking and publicity, but also an organization that I’m proud to support.

I had also applied to the regional art council’s ArtsKC ‘Now Showing’ Program where they pair artists and businesses together. I was accepted and am hanging later this week in Prairie Village, KS at Tavern in the Village. I made a site visit this past weekend and am excited to have my artwork going up here. It is a very posh establishment and the owner was great to work with.

Oh, and I also have a solo show going up at the Blue Valley Parks & Rec Gallery in Overland Park, KS on October 1st.

On a less urgent note, I was asked to hang at the Apex Art Space next year where I will have to opportunity for a solo show during two First Friday events. It’s a space I’ve had my eye on for a while and am honored they asked me to hang.

Ok, now back to painting! I have a show or two to hang!

20130910-094608.jpg

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

