Day 4 Creative Challenge – Be Creative with something you hate doing

When I get home from work and get the kiddo fed, the last thing I want to do is clean the house before it’s time to settle down for the night. Tonight, I decided I would find a creative way to make something I would rather avoid be fun. I decided to clean my house in a creative way. The best part is that I was able to convince the kiddo to play along because he thought it was fun.

I started with making it a race. We “raced” to see who could pick up their stuff and put it in their room the fastest. Then we tackled the dirty clothes by making the washing machine a “basket” to throw the clothes in. We both chose a color and had a race to pick up all the toys that color. I let him win. 😉 It was all picked up and put away, we were having a good enough time doing housework, we even played the matching game with the socks. (FYI, I never match socks).

I am always telling my four year old when he tells me that something is boring, that it’s not boring unless he makes it boring. Maybe it’s time to take some of my own advice. I was able to make a daunting task a lot of fun and get a little quality time with the kiddo at the same time.

What is something that you can do with a little creative flair that makes it less daunting? Make dinner while narrating as if you were on a cooking show. Strap rags on your feet and dance around the house mopping the floor. Pay the bills and sign all of the checks with a funny saying in the memo. Please feel free to share how you are being creative!

 

Now off to celebrate our clean house with hot chocolate (and marshmallows, of course). Image

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

