Day 3 Creative Challenge – Try something new

Sometimes trying something new can be scary. We often times avoid doing them so we don’t have to face our apprehension or fear of making ourselves vulnerable. You can figure this out by how many excuses you make to avoid doing it.

One creative thing I’ve wanted to do for at least a year is make a stop motion video of a painting. Let me tell you all of the excuses that have kept me from doing it:

1) I have no idea how

2) It will look stupid

3) What if I don’t do it right

4) I’m not sure where to start

5) It won’t be as good as the others I’ve seen

Ok, these are just a few of my excuses. I honestly don’t have a clue how to start. I have a camera. I have a program on my computer that I know will do it. I have a lot of film friends who tell me how easy it is, and I really don’t want to look stupid in front of them. Yet, I keep thinking about it and wanting to do it.

So, in the spirit of the Creative Challenge I decided to do it. I set up a camera, an easel with canvas, and started painting. I uploaded them into my computer program and now I have a stop motion; albeit, a VERY BAD stop motion.

I am in this today for the process of doing something that scares me. Reaching out creatively and trying something new. I had to let go of perfection today. It was about taking the first step, and I promise, you can tell this is a first step. I envisioned a beautiful video timed to music and that inspires everyone to go paint. If I watch it too many times, it makes me dizzy and inspires nausea. But you know what? I did it.

I let go of my excuses. I let go of my perfection. I embraced the process and just did it. It doesn’t matter how good or bad we do something. It doesn’t even matter if we know how to do it. What matters is that we at least give it a shot. I’ve learned enough lessons from this, hopefully my second video doesn’t induce motion sickness and I can add some tunes.

Go create in a new way! Try something new! Yep, I hear the excuses surfacing. Let ’em go, enjoy the process.

WARNING – MAY CAUSE MOTION SICKNESS. (Hey, I said it was bad).

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

