Remember to Breathe

This week I found myself at a complete loss with my toddler. He had worked himself into a tantrum that left us both feeling frustrated, angry, and resentful. Nothing I tried made him stop. I came at him from every angle. And finally I gave up. I was exhausted and felt helpless. I was left with no clue at what my next move should be. So I took some deep breaths to recenter. And then it hit me. I had forgotten to breathe.

I took a few deep breaths and as nicely as I could I told my son he had to pull himself together. His answer was, “I can’t”. And I realized he was probably right. He had worked himself into such a state he couldn’t figure out how to calm himself back down. So I asked him to breathe. I put my arms around him, I counted slowly to 10 with each of us taking a big inhale and exhale. By the time we reached 10 he was done. He was calm and able to talk to me about what caused his hysteria in the first place.

This week I have applied this lesson to my son two more times. The last time he asked me to breathe with him. I’ve also caught myself remembering to breathe. I start focusing on things I have no control over, worrying about the future, and want to throw my own tantrum. Then I remember, just breathe. When you start feeling overwhelmed, the answer is simple. Count to 10….and breathe.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

