Wanted: Hope Cheerleader

I have been taking my stepfather to all of his cancer appointments. I was there the day he heard the evil word Cancer. I watched as my parents fell into each other and held each other up as their knees collapsed. It was heart wrenching. The entire process has been exhausting. He has a long hard road ahead of him, but the prognosis looks good.

Out of all of this though, I am realizing another one of my gifts. I am a natural cheerleader. I listen to the must-give worst case scenarios each doctor gives right before a procedure. It’s terrifying and overwhelming. They share the worst possible case of what could go wrong. I watch as my stepdad looks like he could go into a panic attack at any second. He looks lost and overwhelmed. Their words are shocking and the visual picture they paint is not a pretty one. 

I quickly find myself asking for the best case scenario. I lay out time frames and ask for tangible results. Each time the doctors look at me like I must be an alien. Hope. Hope is what I’m after. I want to know what to expect so we know what we have to trudge through to get to the other side. I want to know about their best case scenario. I want to hear the stories of inspiration. Maybe I need to be a cheerleader of hope. Is that a job? I think I’ll look into it. Image

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

