You must make time to waste time

I heard an interesting phrase in an interview by the author of the book, “Imagine- How Creativity Works”. He said, “You must make time to waste time”. He went on to explain that creativity can not be forced and often comes when we quit searching for it. Scientific studies actually show that creativity often happens when you aren’t doing anything. 

I have been so frustrated with having my computer stolen. I feel stagnant. I feel like my whole life was attached to that computer. In some ways that is true, but in many it isn’t. 

I have been trying to really look at this. There is an old Chinese story about a father and his son owned a farm. They did not have many animals, but they did own a horse. One day the horse ran away. 

“How terrible, what bad luck,” said the neighbours. 

“Good luck, bad luck, who knows?” replied the farmer.
Several weeks later the horse returned, bringing with him four wild mares.
“What marvellous luck,” said the neighbours.
“Good luck, bad luck, who knows?” replied the farmer.
The son began to learn to ride the wild horses, but one day he was thrown and broke
his leg.
“What bad luck,” said the neighbours.
“Good luck, bad luck, who knows?” replied the farmer.
The next week the army came to the village to take all the young men to war. The
farmer’s son was still disabled with his broken leg, so he was spared. “Good luck,
bad luck, who knows?”

I don’t think it was good luck I got my things stolen. But, I am trying to see the brighter side of things. I suddenly no longer have the distraction of my computer. I’m not working on organizing my life into yet another excel spreadsheet. I’m not searchign the web for future jobs. I’m not figuring out how to network and market myself. I’m forced to sit with myself and “waste time”. 

At first I couldn’t create at all due to the anger. I took my son to the gallery and watched as he panted with complete abandon. I cleaned around him. He got my creative juices flowing again. I’m suddenly overflowing with ideas. I’m reclaiming oldpaintings and making them new….giving them a new beginning.

I will try to enjoy my wasted time and understand that it is indeed required for healing, growth, and creativity.  

Image

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

