The Big Picture

In the total of today, it sucked. I woke with a migraine that kept me nauseous and sensitive to light. In the afternoon when it finally started to lighten up I was driving my new car home. Suddenly, right after crossing a busy intersection my car quit working. It suddenly screeched to a halt in the middle of the road and refused to move. Even with hazards on people honked and gestured their frustration by being inconvenienced by my misfortune.

My car was later towed away and dropped off at a shop. It was frustrating to watch it being wrenched onto a flatbed while the 30 day tag seemed to mock me out the back window. Less than 200 miles and 2 weeks after purchase, and the transmission goes out.

Shitty day, but not as shitty as one would think. There’s alot of great things that make this day not seem as huge as maybe I would have thought a year ago.

I woke this morning to a smile and the sun beaming through the windows. When I drove home my migraine was starting to subside. I was stalled in the middle of the road uncertain of what to do. I was able to call people to help. This is something I’m not sure I’ve had before…people who cared enough for me they would come if I needed help. I am overwhelming grateful for this. And while waiting for the tow driver and wanting to wallow in my misfortune, these friends kept the mood leaning towards the positive. I found it hard for me to be too upset.

I spent the rest of the day wondering why I’m not more upset about what seems to be todays disaster. In the big picture though, it’s not that bad. I’m fortunate it happened in a time when I do have an income and can afford to get it fixed. It happened when I wasn’t going very fast and didn’t have my son in the car. This could have been a much more dangerous situation. I’m on the road more than most people, and it happened less than two miles from my home. I had people to call who would come help me so I didn’t feel so helpless and alone.

All in all, it’s a machine. It’s not death, it’s not bad health, it’s not anything that can’t be fixed. If it was going to happen, I can’t think of a better time for it to have happened. I have always been one of those people who found the unwavering optimistic annoying. I don’t think I’m becoming one of those people. I think I am just so incredibly grateful for what and who I have in my life. I can look at the big picture and realize that yes, this sucked, but it’s not even close to being as bad as it could have been. I can’t help but still smile.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

