Time

Time seems to be one of those things none of us have enough of. My to-do list grows longer, and it’s hard not to become completely overwhelmed.

One of my challenges is that I only have short moments of time to accomplish things. With a toddler following me around and creating havoc, free time exists only when he takes a nap or finds something to entertain himself. I have learned to take advantage of every second I have. However, I find myself pushing big projects to the bottom of the list; saving it for when I wil have kiddo free time. Then most of the time I’m too tired to give it much concern.

I have recently went back to something I learned years ago: micromovements. So that a task or project doesn’t become overwhelming, I break it into baby steps or micromovements. I break everything into small tasks I can accomplish in 5 minutes. We all have 5 minutes. In fact, we all have lots of 5 minutes.

Think about how many hours of the day is wasted staring at a computer screen, playing on facebook, watching a television show, or daydreaming. Micromovements help me feel accomplished. It helps keep me from becoming overwhelmed. Five minutes doesn’t seem like much time, but set a timer and see how much you can do. I looked at my current to do list, and here are some things I can break down into 5 minute projects:

  • Sweep my floor so it doesn’t feel so cluttered
  • Take the box of books to the car that I am taking to the bookstore
  • Get my tax paperwork into a pile so I can start doing taxes
  • Dig out the printer and hook it up
  • Water my plants and feed the fish
  • Wire two small paintings
  • Create a file of everything I need to print out this week so it can be printed during another 5 minute micromovement
  • Box up painting that needs to be shipped
  • Spend 5 minutes returning emails

Most of these things won’t even take 5 minutes. Some of them I can even do while chatting on the computer, or watching a movie with my son (thank God for technology). Tasks don’t have to be overwhelming. I would suggest spending 5 minutes making a to do list. Once you have everything you can think of, take a break. When you have another free five minutes, figure out how you can break your tasks into micromovements. Move that pair of shoes to the closet, put the dishes in the dishwasher. If you set a timer, you have a goal to meet; takes your mind off the task at hand. Ding, times up, onto another task…

 

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

