Perspectives

I recieved a bit of clarity on my recent vacation. I remember in the past riding on planes and rolling my eyes when a parent got on board with their child. You look around to the other childless passengers, giving each other that knowing look, “this is going to be a long flight”. You grumble under your breath when the child cries or screams. You’re irritated with the parents for subjecting you to this.

My perspective has changed. I got on a plane last week and the child across the row was screaming. You could hear nothing else but ear shattering screaming. This child was my sons age. I realized that my perspective has changed. I saw a two year old screaming because he couldn’t communicate what he wanted/needed/felt. I wondered if he was scared, tired, or maybe hungry? I saw a frantic father trying to stay calm. He was wiping his brow of sweat as he tried to reason with an irrational screaming toddler. I felt overwhelming empathy for this dad. I wanted to tell him I understood and wondered if I could help. I wondered what the root of the tantrum was really about. I felt sorry for them as everyone around them scoffed and snarled.

It occurred to me I am not ready for this adventure with Parker. I’ve never seen him act like this and have no reason to believe that he would. But with a days flight to Africa looming in our future I came to the conclusion that the extensive flight would be more torturous for a little human who spills over with excess energy than it would be for me to cut my trip shorter and go alone leaving him with a willing grandmother. I have many adventures in mind for our future but maybe tying him to a seat for twenty four hours isn’t one for the immediate future. I know people do it all of the time, but I’ve spoke to these people. They drug their children. Not sure that is a path I’m willing to take either.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

