Taking Care of Yourself First

This week I have received several e-mails asking me to volunteer my services for different organizations teaching, donating, and giving my time for free. I looked at my scheduled and panicked. I was over ridden with guilt because I have to say no. Some of these causes are really good, and I would love to do them, but the truth is I just don’t have the time or resources.

I already donate time with a non-profit doing art therapy and teaching for free. I offer free art lessons to children whose parents live in a shelter. I donate work to various organizations that I find worthwhile. At some point I have to say enough.

I often give the advice to others that you have to take care of yourself first. I have to give this advice to moms a lot. I realized with the guilt that I’m not following my own advice. I have to take care of myself first. I have to take care of my child second. Everything is tied to me. If I don’t take care of myself then nothing gets done. I f I get sick, if I get overwhelmed, if I’m too tired….things that depend on me don’t get done.

Second, I have a responsibility to my son. I cannot keep donating time and resources when I have bills that I struggle to pay. When it comes right down to it, the most worthwhile cause is my family. I will start by reevaluating my responsibilities to myself, then my son, and then everything else will fall in if there’s room. I think most people don’t take care of the most important person in their lives  –  themselves.

About strokeofred

I am from Kansas and I have traveled all over the world. I am an artist, and I have a business brain. I love skirts and tennis shoes. I like to get dirty and ride motorcycles. I am sensitive and I can be mean. I love nature, and believe in protecting it. I love to laugh, and feel better after a good cry. I can be stubborn and impatient. I am constantly growing. I am open and free. I look to be inspired and love to inspire. I play guitar and secretly want to play drums. I have a puppy that brings me great joy. I love hugs, cuddling, holding hands...and wrestling. I love the mountains and the beach. I have to make a pilgrimage to the ocean at least twice a year to balance myself. I believe in balance in all things. Traveling is a passion, and meeting interesting people from all over the world is the perk! I have small town values, and big city dreams. I love beer, hate wine. I believe that what you put out comes back. I believe and live by the belief of treating others like you want to be treated. I enjoy stimulating conversation, and a good sense of humor. Caffeine is my drug of choice, and coffee over chess or good conversation is my luxury. I am strong but sometimes feel small. I strive to be my authentic me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking Care of Yourself First

Leave a Reply

